Mlc 2023: Mumbai Franchise Team Mi New York Became the Champion of the First Season


Mumbai Indians franchise team MI New York has won the first season of the new T20 league ‘Major League Cricket’ started in America. They defeated the Seattle Orcas in the final by seven wickets with 24 balls to spare. Captain Nicholas Pooran played a stormy inning in the match for MI New York.

He scored a century in just 40 balls. Puran remained unbeaten after scoring 137 runs off 55 balls. He hit 10 fours and 13 sixes in his innings. During this, his strike rate was 249.09. Nicholas Pooran is the highest run-scorer in the first season of Major League Cricket. He scored 388 runs.

The record of the best score (137 not out) in the tournament has also been recorded in the name of Pooran. MI New York player Trent Boult was the highest wicket-taker. He took 22 wickets in his name. The best bowling in a match was by Saurabh Netrawalkar of Washington Freedom against San Francisco Unicorns. He took six wickets for nine runs.

MI New York team was fourth in the points table

Six teams participated in the tournament. The teams of San Francisco Unicorns and Los Angeles Knight Riders were eliminated in the league round itself. After the league round, Seattle Orcas stood first, Texas Super Kings second, Washington Freedom third, and MI New York fourth.

MI New York performed brilliantly in the playoffs. They defeated the Washington Freedom in the Eliminator. He then ousted Texas Super Kings in the Challenger match. Now defeated the league’s top team, the Seattle Orcas, in the finals.

What happened in the match?

MI New York captain Nicholas Pooran won the toss and decided to bowl first. Seattle’s team scored 183 runs for nine wickets in 20 overs. For him, wicket-keeper batsman Quinton De Kock scored the highest 87 runs. He hit nine fours and four sixes in his 52-ball innings.

Shubham Ranjane scored 29, Dwayne Pretorius 21 and Shehan Jayasuriya scored 16 runs. Apart from these four, no batsman could touch the double figure. Trent Boult and Rashid Khan took three wickets each for MI New York.

Chasing the target of 184 runs, the MI New York team won the match in 16 overs. He scored 184 runs at the loss of three wickets. He had a bad start. Imad Wasim dismissed Steven Taylor (void) in the very first over. Shayan Jahangir shared a 62-run partnership for the second wicket with captain Pooran.

He was dismissed by Wayne Parnell after scoring 10 runs. From here Puran got the support of Dewald Brewis. Both shared a 75-run partnership for the third wicket. Brewis was run out after scoring 20 runs. After his dismissal, Pooran finished the match with Tim David. Both shared an unbeaten 47-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Tim David scored 10 not out.

Leave a Reply